gone baby gone

I apologize for the lack of reviews lately, with school starting back I haven’t had a lot of time to sit and read for fun or watch movies, but Labor Day weekend has provided me with an opportunity to enjoy being lazy once again. I’ve had Gone Baby Gone from Netflix for about 2 weeks now and finally got around to watching it today. I didn’t know what to expect, but I knew that Netflix told me I’d like it.

The film starts off with Casey Affleck musing about how the city is what shapes a person, how who we are is determined by where we live, what city, what neighborhood, and how that identity becomes such a major part of ourselves that we are unable to shake it off for the rest of our lives. The entire time this monologue is happening, the film is showing shots of various people in a rough Boston neighborhood, demonstrating that these people are who they are because they live in a rough neighborhood in Boston. This pretty much tipped me off right off the bat that this film wasn’t going to be a happy movie but that it was going to be a gritty ride. I was right. This isn’t the film for you if you’re looking for something clean and happy.

There’s a ton of cussing as can be expected in any film about crime set in Boston, and there’s plenty of violence as well. But it all has a point. The cussing is almost necessary if we’re to believe that the film is set in Boston, a gritty crime drama set in Boston with no cussing is about as believable as pro wrestling.

The film is about a little girl who is kidnapped and a private eye who is hired to find her. Casey Affleck plays the lead role as the private investigator and does a phenomenal job. I thought all of the acting in this film was great. Morgan Freeman did a great job as always, and the characters were all incredibly real.

I don’t want to ruin anything about the film for you but trust me when I say it’s full of twists. This is one of the few times I didn’t see the twist coming, and one of the very few times I’ve been morally stumped in a movie. I have no idea what the right thing to do would have been, and I don’t have any idea what I would do if put in the situation presented at the end of Gone Baby Gone. The moral dilemma presented is definitely one that I will be milling around in my head for the days to come.

Overall, I loved Gone Baby Gone. It dragged on sometimes, and I wondered where it was going, but the ending was more than satisfying, and the twists blew me away. If you love movies like The Departed or any gritty crime drama, Gone Baby Gone is the movie for you.

Overall rating: 9/10

