RocknRolla: A story of sex, thugs and rock ‘n roll. I’m a huge fan of Guy Ritchie films. To this day, Snatch remains one of the best films I’ve ever seen. Therefore, I had really high hopes going into RocknRolla.

First off, the tagline is slightly misleading. There’s almost nothing about sex, and no nudity at all. It’s really a story of a heist, thugs and rock ‘n roll. I wasn’t too surprised to find out it was about a heist in London. In fact, nothing really surprised me. Sadly, Guy Ritchie seems to have found a formula that he sticks with. It worked for Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels and Snatch, but it didn’t work so much with this. Maybe I just got sick of slight variations on a formula by the third film I’ve seen.

I actually couldn’t make it through RocknRolla my first time through. I got through about half of the film before I got bored and gave up. I decided I’d try it one more time again the next night and actually made it through the entire film.

There are some amazing parts. Gerard Butler does a wonderful job playing a thug. And the shots are impeccable, at times downright amazing. Then there are some really boring parts, some parts where the movie just drags and it feels like a chore to keep watching.

There’s nothing here that causes you to really think. It’s a “sit back and enjoy” kind of movie, which is nice every once in awhile. When it’s not nice, is when it feels like a chore to make it through the rest of the movie.

Don’t rush out to see this. It’s worth a rental if you’re really bored. It’s not great, and it’s not awful. If you want to see a good Guy Ritchie heist film, see Snatch instead.

Overall rating: 5.5/10

